​​FRANCOIS PARE
Comments : I spent 10 days at Culmer Cottage at the end of April 2013. My daughter and her partner joined me for half the stay in Tarpum Bay. The owner of this nicely appointed house is right about the cultural immersion experience. The house is located on a hill in the centre of the village of Tarpum Bay. It is close to everything: a small grocery store, the fishermen's dock, the post office, the medical clinic, the small Tarpum Bay beach. Barbie's with its delicious hamburgers is just a couple doors down on Lord Street. Culmer cottage was exactly what I was looking for. It offered a wonderful combination of true everyday life in a Bahamian community and easy access to deserted beaches. Good Internet access throughout the house and on the patio facing the Bight of Eleuthera. It is essential to rent a car, not only to discover the back roads of Eleuthera or go out for coffee at Da Perks in Governor's Harbour, but because some of the essential services can only be found 12 kilometers south in Rock Sound. The house is exactly as it is depicted on the website. No deception here. The two bedrooms afford a beautiful view of the bay. We appreciated the two bathrooms. Tarpum Bay people are always friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our evening strolls through the settlement, sitting at the village dock watching the green herons or sipping on a cool beverage bought at the nearby sore, Bert is for the Best. This rental is recommended for those who would like to experience a different kind of vacations in the Bahamas. 
 
Marja and Jim Sandberg, California
Comments : We really enjoyed our stay in Culmer cottage.  All amenities have been meticulously seen to. A very comfortable stay for a small family or a romantic getaway.  Pack your sense of adventure and a bathing suit, that's all you need! 1/1/2013

Maggie Hess, Michigan
Comments : I stayed at Culmer Cottage over Christmas 2012 with my 22 year old son. We got in very late that evening, but our car rental connection (recommended by Lynn who owns Culmer Cottage) was ready and waiting with a great care for our trip.  We arrived in Tarpum Bay quite late, but the door to the Cottage was open and everything was lovely. It was a beautiful sight for tired eyes.  We had a great sleep as it's very quiet there and were off for a snorkeling trip the following day.  Culmer Cottage sits in the settlement of Tarpum Bay, so you are surrounded by a small population of very friendly, local people. The next morning, I was off to Bert's Market a few steps away, to buy groceries so that we could cook in our lovely kitchen. On either side of the cottage are two churches, and directly outside the back and across the street is Tarpum Bay and the gorgeous, emerald green waters of the Caribbean.

The cottage is well-equipped, clean, and well-maintained by Brenda and Kervin, the caretakers. They both showed up to say hi several times during our stay, and Christmas Day food cooked by Kervin was delivered by various grandchildren to our cottage, as well as some fresh fish caught by Kervin. Everything you need is there to make your stay relaxing, comfortable, and entertaining. The cable TV and internet work well, which is surprising in such a small settlement, and on Christmas Eve and Day we could hear carol singing at our neighboring churches. There is even a local bar within walking distance where we could buy our Kalik beer  (the beer of the Bahamas) when the store was closed for the holiday.  

I would absolutely go to Culmer Cottage again in the future. In fact, I would choose it over a more costly resort that doesn't give you the ambience of being in the REAL Bahamas, with friendly people, great food, and peace and serenity at it's best.  Don't forget that you can drive up and down the island on its one major road, and there are great places to eat and to visit along the way.I have now been to the Glass Window Bridge near Gregory Town, and count it as one of the most beautiful places in the world. 

So congratulations to Lynn, who is great to communicate with as you make your plans, for providing a real experience in Bahamian culture and a lovely place to stay for a wonderful time.  We can't wait to come back.Enter comments here!
   
Come to the REAL BAHAMAS!
Snoozenkaye(Springfield, Virginia)

Date of Stay: 12/23/11 Review Submitted: 12/27/14
Culmer Cottage is a true cottage in the middle of a small fishing village with grand charm! The house itself is tastefully decorated with personal touches and art created by the owners and others throughout. It is not just a rental it is their home away from home and we felt like we were visiting the cottage of a family member or friend, not a place set to rent. In Tarpum Bay you can enjoy the Bahamian people who live here year round. We saw very few other tourists and although we sometimes (probably always) looked like tourists ourselves we felt totally at home, at ease and truly almost like family at times. The people here are the most warm, friendly, open people I have ever met in any of my travels. I felt so welcomed every place I went! When you walk or drive anywhere, everyone speaks to you, treats you with the utmost politeness, waves if you are driving by. Hitching a ride is common and we felt comfortable picking up kids, older people and females- not sure if I would pick up someone who could overpower me. This place is safe, there is very little crime here, according to locals. We loved exploring the island and the beaches. We wanted to relax and decided not to take the trip all the way to Harbour Island. We went as far North as Gregory Town, checked out Governor's Harbour and North Palmetto Point. We saw different beaches every day. Junkanoo was a delight! You need a car in order to get around to the beaches. Cook for yourselves to save money- eating out here is more expensive than most places in the U.S. comparing apples to apples. We bought fresh lobster and conch and red snapper off the dock half a block from the house. We grilled the snapper, made a fish boil with the lobster and had the caretaker make us a conch salad. The caretaker is a wonderful cook and can be hired to bring you meals. We asked her to cook extra Christmas dinner- asking her to just bring us whatever she was making for her own family and we got turkey, ham, macaroni and cheese (they say macaroni), yellow rice with vegetables and dressing. Every single thing was delicious- prepared a lot like soul food in the U.S. We fell in love with the caretakers and their family and will always remember their kindness and the fun we had with them. We love this place, are still here at the time of this writing and do not want to leave. We would recommend this place to anyone who likes to travel off the beaten path to know the real people of the Bahamas. Love, love, love it here!

Recommended for: People with disabilities, sightseeing, adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet owners, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children.

Escape to Tarpum Bay
Jim (Traverse City Michigan)
Date of Stay: 03/01/11 Review Submitted: 03/05/14
Culmer Cottage is a wonderful cottage high on a hill over-looking the Caribbean Sea, just a stones throw from the water and the fishing pier where you can purchase the catch of the day. A constant cool ocean breeze makes for a very pleasant stay. The second floor porch provides spectacular views while the main floor patio provided a great spot for morning coffee while checking email and evening cocktails. Staying in the heart of Tarpum Bay provided a great experience where I was able to meet and socialize with some of the local people who shared colorful stories about Eleuthera and the other islands. The market is directly across the street and several local eateries are within walking distance. Eleuthera and beaches go hand in hand. A short drive in any direction took me to beautiful beaches for sunning, swimming and great snorkeling. A ten minute drive from Rock Sound Airport was convenient and Tarpum Bay is a great spot for day trips to the north or the south of the island. The cottage itself is comfortable and well appointed with a full kitchen, 2 full baths and 2 bedrooms. Every window has a view. I very much enjoyed my stay and plan to return to this wonderful spot!

Recommended for: Sightseeing, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, girls getaway, age 55+, romantic getaway.


Escape to Tarpum Bay
Paul (Long Lake, Michigan, USA)

Date of Stay: 02/05/11 Review Submitted: 02/26/11
Have stayed here three times. Great view, centrally located on the island, easy to maintain. Like having fish dock with daily catch a block away.Like being in the middle of a Bahamian town. I keep coming back, so you know I like this cottage.

Recommended for:Sightseeing, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, girls getaway, pet owners, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.


Culmer Cottage
Ann (Fort Myers, FL)

Date of Stay: 11/01/10 Review Submitted: 11/22/10
This is my idea of a perfect house for the setting. And I have never seen beaches as beautiful as those on Eleuthera.

Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, families with young children.

Escape to the Beautiful Island of Eleuthera, Bahamas


Kevin Ramm : November 2016  My girlfriend and I stayed here for Thanksgiving week for a relaxing and yet adventurous tropical vacation..  The house was perfect. It was very clean and well appointed.  It had everything needed for when we cooked, good wifi and cable (even watched Thanksgiving football), plus it is in the best location!  Tarpum Bay itself is beautiful, but we loved being less than 45 minutes  away from tons of beautiful beaches north or south.  We ended up seeing 10 beaches over the course of our week long trip.

  The house has a beautiful balcony overlooking the bay and new/comfortable furniture.  One of the most helpful parts was the binder the owner has put together/.  She listed restaurants, beaches, things to do.  By the end of the trip, I felt like a local.  

   I would definately recommend staying here for an authentic Bahamian expeprience.  We can't wait to go back!

Kathleen, Germany:  April, 2016

We loved our stay in Tarpum Bay in Culmer Cottage.  There was one problem, though.  It was too short.  Tarpum Bay is a beautiful, small town on a beautiful island with wonderfully friendly and open and helpful people!  Culmer Cottage itself is an old home, maybe over 100 years old that has been completely restored and remodeled by one of the great grandsons, Kervin.  He has done a wonderful job! The house has personality and makes one feel at home and welcome.  It has all that one needs and a bit more.  It even comes with a cook and maid if one desires it. A grocery store is across the street, there are small restaurants within walking distance.

  I wish we had been able to enjoy Culmer Cottage, Tarpum Bay and the whole island of Eleuthera for more than the one week we had. We do hope to be able to return someday.